as the end draws near….

The end, that is, of a six day marbling marathon.  You’re guessing which will you run out of first – alummed paper, mixed paints, or functioning size.   This is my favorite time, when I’m least attached to the outcmes, but still ready to play.  My carageenen (the liquid base on which you marble)  has been remarkably well behaved – lastng since I first mixed it Thursday night, with just a few top-offs of fresh size.  Often it is paper I run out of first, and rather than do more alumming I start going through my stash of marbled papers, selecting the ones that have sat on the shelf too long due to some problem.  0ften a second marbling on top of the first can do wonders and turn a mediocre sheet into a primo one.  Other times it can be a disaster, but a learning experimeent.  The size still has some life in it, so now I have more fun combining the little dregs of colors together when they get too low to use.   Image

Leave a Reply

